How Long After Passing Can You Use Your LEED Credential?
What the USGBC handbooks say about when you can use a LEED credential after passing, and how to write it.
In this guide
- How long after passing can you use your LEED credential?
- What do the handbooks say about results and certificates?
- How should you write your LEED credential?
- What changes for LEED AP and the v5 beta exams?
- What should you do after you pass?
- Try it: LEED credential use explorer
- Find your LEED v5 route
- Practice quiz: using your LEED credential
- Frequently asked questions
- Where 3FOLD fits
Passing the exam is the moment many candidates have been working towards, and the next question is when you can start using the credential. This article looks at what the USGBC and GBCI handbooks say about using it, about certificates, and about writing it correctly. It uses the LEED Green Associate Candidate Handbook, the LEED AP with Specialty Candidate Handbook and the USGBC LEED v5 exam information. It does not state fees, exam dates, scores, eligibility rules or job outcomes, so check the official USGBC and Green Business Certification Inc. (GBCI) pages before you update your profile.
Quick answer
The LEED Green Associate handbook says that as soon as you have passed the exam, you can use the title and the logo. The LEED AP with Specialty handbook says you may use the signifier as soon as you receive written confirmation that you passed. Certificates are downloaded from your Credentials Dashboard once results are processed, and the handbooks describe how the credential should be written.
| Short answer | The Green Associate handbook says you can use the title as soon as you have passed, and the AP handbook says as soon as you receive written confirmation |
| Certificate | Downloaded from your Credentials Dashboard once results are processed |
| Hard copies | Not available according to the handbooks |
| Wording | LEED Green Associate, or LEED AP followed by the specialty, and not LEED GA |
| Maintenance | The reporting period starts from the exam date |
| Terminology | Projects are certified, and people hold credentials |
| What is not here | Fees, exam dates, scores, eligibility rules and job outcomes |
How long after passing can you use your LEED credential?
The handbooks say you can use it as soon as you have passed or been confirmed.
The LEED Green Associate Candidate Handbook says that as soon as you have passed the LEED Green Associate exam, you can use the title and the logo. The LEED AP with Specialty Candidate Handbook says you may use the appropriate signifier as soon as you receive written confirmation that you passed the specialty exam. Neither handbook describes a waiting period before you can start. Your certificate is a separate step, and the table below sets out the main points. Our guide on LEED certification for individuals explains how people hold credentials and projects are certified.
| Question | Short answer | Source or note |
|---|---|---|
| When can a Green Associate use the title? | The handbook says as soon as you have passed the exam | Green Associate handbook |
| When can an AP holder use the signifier? | The handbook says as soon as you receive written confirmation that you passed | LEED AP handbook |
| Where do you get your certificate? | You download it from your Credentials Dashboard once results are processed | Both handbooks |
| Are hard copies available? | No, the handbooks say hard copies are not available | Both handbooks |
| Is LEED GA an approved abbreviation? | No, the Green Associate handbook says it should not be used | Green Associate handbook |
| When does credential maintenance start? | The reporting period starts when the credential is earned, based on the exam date | Both handbooks |
Want to prepare for the exam?
Compare the course and check the next batch.
What do the handbooks say about results and certificates?
Results, directory updates and certificates follow in sequence.
The Green Associate handbook says your exam result appears on screen at the end of the exam and that a score report is emailed to you. It then describes results processing, an update to the USGBC directory where applicable, and a certificate that you download from your Credentials Dashboard once results are processed. Both handbooks say hard copies are not available, and neither mentions a digital badge. This article does not state processing times, so check the handbook for the current timing. A certificate from the dashboard is different from a training certificate from a course, as our guide on the difference between a LEED training certificate and a credential explains.
- The result is shown at the end of the exam, with a score report sent afterwards
- Results are processed and the directory is updated where applicable
- You download your certificate from the Credentials Dashboard
- Hard copies are not available, and neither handbook mentions a digital badge
Want a guided route to both credentials?
Check the combined course and the next batch.
How should you write your LEED credential?
Use the wording the handbooks give, and avoid the shortcuts they rule out.
The Green Associate handbook says LEED GA is not an approved abbreviation and should not be used under any circumstances. The AP handbook says the designation is written as LEED AP followed by the specialty, and that the term LEED Accredited Professional is never to be used. It also says the AP credential supersedes the Green Associate, so read it before you update your profile. For more guidance, the handbook points to the LEED professional credentials section of the USGBC Trademark Policy and Branding Guidelines. Our guide on LEED certification for professionals covers the wider picture.
What changes for LEED AP and the v5 beta exams?
The AP handbook adds a beta exam note about when results arrive.
For the LEED v5 beta exams, the LEED AP with Specialty Candidate Handbook says candidates receive a Notice of Completion rather than immediate results, and that results are released after the exam analysis is complete. The handbook gives more than one timeline for results, so this article does not state dates. It also says the only way to earn a LEED professional credential is to pass the required exam, so a Notice of Completion is not a credential. Read the handbook and the USGBC LEED v5 exam information for the current position before you plan to use any designation.
- A beta exam gives a Notice of Completion, not immediate results
- Results follow after the exam analysis is complete
- A Notice of Completion is not a credential
- Check the handbook for the current timeline
What should you do after you pass?
Confirm, download, write it correctly and note the maintenance start.
First, confirm your result and read the handbook wording on when you may use the credential. Second, download your certificate from your Credentials Dashboard once results are processed. Third, write the credential exactly as the handbook describes. Fourth, note that the reporting period for credential maintenance starts when the credential is earned, based on the exam date, so plan ahead. Our guide on how LEED recertification works explains the maintenance side. The courses we offer are delivered as Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT) with Learning Management System (LMS) resources, practice questions and full-length mock exams. See also our guide on how to become a LEED professional.
Try it: LEED credential use explorer
For practice only. Pick your situation to see where to focus, why it fits and what to do next.
Focus
Why it fits
What to do next
The explorer opens on someone who has just passed the Green Associate so you can see the pattern: match your situation to a focus, see why it fits, then take the next step.
Find your LEED v5 route
For planning only. Answer 7 quick questions to get a suggested route and the sections of this guide to re-read first.
How confident are you in each topic from this guide?
After you press the button, you get a suggested route, a confidence score for this guide, and links to the sections to re-read first. Eligibility and exam rules are set by USGBC and GBCI, so check their pages before you book.
Practice quiz: using your LEED credential
For practice only. Test what you have learned in this article, then check the answers.
Have questions about LEED v5 training? Send your question through the course enquiry form or the 3FOLD Training team on WhatsApp. You can also try LEED Green Associate practice questions to refresh the foundations.
Frequently asked questions
How long after passing can you use your LEED credential?
The LEED Green Associate handbook says you can use the title and the logo as soon as you have passed the exam. The LEED AP with Specialty handbook says as soon as you receive written confirmation that you passed.
Is there a waiting period before you can use a LEED credential?
Neither LEED handbook describes a waiting period before you can use the credential. Read the current handbook wording before you update your profile.
Where do you download your LEED certificate?
The LEED handbooks say you download your certificate from your Credentials Dashboard once results are processed. They also say hard copies are not available.
Do LEED credential holders get a digital badge?
Neither LEED handbook mentions a digital badge. Check the USGBC credentials pages for any current offer.
Is LEED GA an approved abbreviation?
No. The LEED Green Associate handbook says LEED GA is not an approved abbreviation and should not be used under any circumstances.
How should you write the LEED AP credential?
The LEED AP with Specialty handbook says to write LEED AP followed by your specialty, and that the term LEED Accredited Professional is never to be used.
Is a LEED training certificate the same as a credential?
No. A training certificate shows you completed a LEED course, while a LEED credential is earned through the exam administered by GBCI.
What do LEED v5 beta exam candidates receive?
The LEED AP with Specialty handbook says beta candidates receive a Notice of Completion and get results after the exam analysis is complete. Check the handbook for the current timeline.
When does LEED credential maintenance start?
The LEED handbooks say the reporting period starts when the credential is earned, based on the exam date. Read the handbook for the current requirements.
How are the 3FOLD Training LEED courses structured?
On the 3FOLD Training course pages, the LEED Green Associate course runs 14 hours, the LEED AP BD+C course runs 21 hours and the combined LEED path runs 35 hours. They are delivered as Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT) with Learning Management System (LMS) resources, practice questions and full-length mock exams.
Where can I check the current LEED credential rules?
The LEED candidate handbooks, the USGBC LEED v5 exam information and the USGBC Trademark Policy and Branding Guidelines hold the current rules. This article does not state fees, exam dates, scores or eligibility rules, so check USGBC and GBCI before you plan.
Where 3FOLD fits
3FOLD Training is licensed by the Knowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA) in Dubai and offers Green Business Certification Inc. (GBCI) exam preparation through LEED Green Associate training, LEED AP BD+C training and a combined LEED Green Associate and LEED AP BD+C option. The courses are delivered as Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT) with Learning Management System (LMS) resources, practice questions and full-length mock exams. 3FOLD prepares you for the exam, GBCI administers the LEED credential exams, and USGBC publishes the LEED rating system. Check the current batches on the course calendar.
Ready to start learning LEED?
Check the upcoming course batches.



Leave a reply