Difference Between LEED GA and LEED AP
What each credential covers, how they compare and which to choose.
In this guide
- What is the difference between LEED GA and LEED AP?
- What does the LEED Green Associate cover?
- What does the LEED AP with Specialty cover?
- How do the two compare side by side?
- Which should you choose?
- Try it: GA or AP explorer
- Find your LEED v5 route
- Practice quiz: LEED GA and LEED AP
- Frequently asked questions
- Where 3FOLD fits
People often ask what separates the LEED Green Associate from the LEED AP, and which one to pursue first. In short, the Green Associate covers the foundations, and the LEED AP with Specialty adds an advanced specialty. This article explains what each credential covers, how they compare side by side and how to choose. It uses the LEED Green Associate Candidate Handbook, the LEED AP with Specialty Candidate Handbook and the USGBC LEED v5 exam information page. It does not state difficulty claims, pass rates, passing scores, question counts, eligibility rules or fees, so check the official USGBC and Green Business Certification Inc. (GBCI) pages for those details.
Quick answer
The LEED Green Associate is the foundation LEED credential, covering core concepts and the LEED process. The LEED AP with Specialty is an advanced credential tied to a specialty such as BD+C, O+M or ID+C. USGBC states that Green Associate holders are qualified for the LEED AP with Specialty exam. Check the official USGBC and GBCI pages for current details.
| Short answer | The LEED Green Associate covers the foundations, and the LEED AP with Specialty adds an advanced specialty |
| LEED Green Associate | The foundation credential, based on LEED v5 |
| LEED AP with Specialty | Specialties include BD+C, O+M and ID+C |
| Eligibility | USGBC states that Green Associate holders are qualified for the AP with Specialty exam |
| Continuing education | GA: 15 hours with 3 LEED-specific. AP: 30 hours with 6 LEED-specific |
| 3FOLD course lengths | GA 14 hours, AP BD+C 21 hours, combined 35 hours |
| What is not here | Difficulty claims, pass rates, passing scores, question counts and fees |
| Key rule | Check the official USGBC and GBCI pages for current details |
What is the difference between LEED GA and LEED AP?
The Green Associate covers the foundations, and the LEED AP adds a specialty.
Both are credentials that people hold, and Green Business Certification Inc. (GBCI) administers the exams. USGBC states that the Green Associate exam is based on LEED v5. Our guide on LEED certification for professionals covers the wider picture, and our guide on the LEED Green Associate and LEED AP BD+C career path shows how the two connect. The table below summarizes six points people ask about most.
| Question | Answer | Source or note |
|---|---|---|
| What is the main difference? | The GA covers the foundations, and the AP adds a specialty | USGBC |
| What is the LEED Green Associate? | The foundation LEED credential | USGBC exam information |
| What is the LEED AP with Specialty? | An advanced credential, such as BD+C, O+M or ID+C | USGBC exam information |
| Can GA holders sit the AP exam? | USGBC states that GA holders are qualified | USGBC exam information |
| How do continuing education hours differ? | GA: 15 hours, AP: 30 hours, on two-year cycles | USGBC support page |
| Which 3FOLD course lengths apply? | GA 14, AP BD+C 21, combined 35 hours | 3FOLD Training |
Want help choosing between the GA and the AP?
Compare the courses and check the next batch.
What does the LEED Green Associate cover?
It covers the core concepts of green building and the LEED process.
The LEED Green Associate Candidate Handbook groups the exam content into eight domains: LEED Process; Integrative Process, Planning, and Assessments; Location and Transportation; Sustainable Sites; Water Efficiency; Energy and Atmosphere; Materials and Resources; and Indoor Environmental Quality. USGBC lists the LEED Core Concepts Guide, Foundations of LEED, Guide to Certification: Commercial and the LEED Rating System Selection Guidance as references, and the USGBC LEED v5 exam information page has the current list. Our LEED Green Associate syllabus guide walks through the domains.
Want a guided start with the Green Associate?
Check the Green Associate course page and the next batch.
What does the LEED AP with Specialty cover?
It covers an advanced specialty, such as BD+C, O+M or ID+C.
The LEED AP with Specialty Candidate Handbook sets out the exam for each specialty. The LEED AP BD+C relates to building design and construction, and its references include the LEED v5 Reference Guide for Building Design and Construction. When this article was written, USGBC stated that the LEED AP BD+C, O+M and ID+C exams are based on LEED v5, and that LEED AP ND and LEED AP Homes remain on LEED v4, so check the USGBC LEED v5 exam information page for current details. Our LEED AP BD+C syllabus guide walks through that exam.
How do the two compare side by side?
They differ in scope, specialty, references and upkeep.
- Scope: the Green Associate covers foundations across all eight domains, and the LEED AP goes deeper into one specialty.
- References: the Green Associate lists the Core Concepts Guide and Foundations of LEED, and the LEED AP BD+C lists the LEED v5 Reference Guide for Building Design and Construction.
- Question levels: the handbooks say the exams assess Recall, Application and Analysis.
- Upkeep: on the USGBC support page, the Green Associate needs 15 continuing education hours and the LEED AP needs 30, on two-year cycles.
Our guide on how LEED recertification works covers upkeep in more detail. A training certificate from a course is not a credential, and our guide on the difference between a LEED training certificate and a credential explains why.
Which should you choose?
Choose the Green Associate for foundations, and the LEED AP for a specialty.
If you are new to LEED, the Green Associate is the usual starting point, and our guide on how to become a LEED AP explains the next step. If you already work on building design and construction, the LEED AP BD+C may fit your work. Eligibility and registration rules are set by USGBC and GBCI and this article does not state them, so see our guide on LEED Green Associate eligibility before you apply. Practise with LEED Green Associate practice questions before you decide. On the 3FOLD Training course pages, the LEED Green Associate course runs 14 hours, the LEED AP BD+C course runs 21 hours and the combined path runs 35 hours. The courses are delivered as Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT) with Learning Management System (LMS) resources, practice questions and full-length mock exams.
Try it: GA or AP explorer
For practice only. Pick your situation to see a best-fit credential, why it fits and what to do next.
Best fit
Why it fits
What to do next
The explorer opens on someone new to LEED so you can see the pattern: match your situation to a credential, see why it fits, then take the next step.
Find your LEED v5 route
For planning only. Answer 7 quick questions to get a suggested route and the sections of this guide to re-read first.
How confident are you in each topic from this guide?
After you press the button, you get a suggested route, a confidence score for this guide, and links to the sections to re-read first. Eligibility and exam rules are set by USGBC and GBCI, so check their pages before you book.
Practice quiz: LEED GA and LEED AP
For practice only. Test what you have learned in this article, then check the answers.
Have questions about LEED v5 training? Send your question through the course enquiry form or the 3FOLD Training team on WhatsApp. You can also try LEED Green Associate practice questions to refresh the foundations.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between LEED GA and LEED AP?
The LEED Green Associate (GA) is the foundation LEED credential covering core concepts and the LEED process, while the LEED AP with Specialty is an advanced LEED credential tied to a specialty such as BD+C. GBCI administers both LEED credential exams.
What does the LEED Green Associate cover?
The LEED Green Associate covers the core concepts of green building and the LEED process. The LEED Green Associate handbook groups the exam content into eight domains, from the LEED process to Indoor Environmental Quality.
What is the LEED AP with Specialty?
The LEED AP with Specialty is an advanced LEED credential with a specialty such as BD+C, O+M or ID+C. Check the USGBC LEED v5 exam information page for the current list of LEED AP specialties.
Do I need the LEED Green Associate before the LEED AP?
USGBC states that LEED Green Associate holders are qualified for the LEED AP with Specialty exam. This article does not state other LEED eligibility rules, so check the USGBC credential pages and the LEED AP candidate handbook.
Which LEED exams are based on LEED v5?
When this article was written, USGBC stated that the LEED Green Associate, LEED AP BD+C, LEED AP O+M and LEED AP ID+C exams are based on LEED v5, while LEED AP ND and LEED AP Homes remain on LEED v4. Check the USGBC page for current details.
Which LEED credential suits design and construction work?
The LEED AP BD+C relates to building design and construction, and its references include the LEED v5 Reference Guide for Building Design and Construction. The LEED Green Associate suits anyone who wants the LEED foundations.
How do LEED GA and LEED AP continuing education requirements differ?
On the USGBC support page, the LEED Green Associate needs 15 continuing education hours, including 3 LEED-specific, and the LEED AP needs 30 hours, including 6 LEED-specific, on two-year cycles. Check the USGBC page for current details.
How do the LEED GA and LEED AP exams differ in focus?
The LEED handbooks say the LEED exams assess Recall, Application and Analysis, and the LEED AP exam draws on specialty references. This article does not state difficulty, pass rates or question counts, so check the LEED handbooks.
Is a LEED training certificate the same as a LEED credential?
No. A training certificate shows you completed a LEED course, while a LEED credential is earned through the exam administered by GBCI. Check the LEED handbook for how the credential is earned.
Can I prepare for LEED GA and LEED AP BD+C as one path?
Yes, 3FOLD Training offers a combined LEED Green Associate and LEED AP BD+C course, so candidates can prepare for both LEED exams in one path. Check the course page and the USGBC and GBCI pages for current eligibility and registration details.
How long are the 3FOLD Training LEED GA and LEED AP courses?
On the 3FOLD Training course pages, the LEED Green Associate course runs 14 hours, the LEED AP BD+C course runs 21 hours and the combined LEED path runs 35 hours. They are delivered as Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT) with Learning Management System (LMS) resources, practice questions and full-length mock exams.
Where 3FOLD fits
3FOLD Training is licensed by the Knowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA) in Dubai and offers Green Business Certification Inc. (GBCI) exam preparation through LEED Green Associate training, LEED AP BD+C training and a combined LEED Green Associate and LEED AP BD+C option. The courses are delivered as Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT) with Learning Management System (LMS) resources, practice questions and full-length mock exams. 3FOLD prepares you for the exam, GBCI administers the LEED credential exams, and USGBC publishes the LEED rating system. Check the current batches on the course calendar.
Ready to choose your LEED credential?
Check the upcoming course batches.




2 comments
Leave your reply.